Georgia Regents : Discover whats next!

Visit news.gru.edu/alert for the latest information.

Flair Pin

Foreign Language Alliance for International Rapport

FLAIR

What is FLAIR? 
One of the first foreign language alliances in the state of Georgia, FLAIR was founded in 1985 to serve the CSRA and is supported by the Department of English and Foreign Languages of Georgia Regents University.

What is FLAIR’s mission? 
To foster an awareness of cultural diversity and to learn from it; to provide teachers and students opportunities to share experiences; to sponsor a student honor society; and to keep abreast with the field through conferences and special programs.

Who can be a member? 
Anyone interested in promoting foreign languages in the CSRA. Teachers and students, from public and private schools, as well as members of the community can belong to FLAIR.

How much are dues? 
Membership is free and open to all.

How can I become a member? 
If you are a foreign language teacher and have been receiving our mailings, you are already a member. If you have not received any information, call a member of the steering committee to have your name put on our mailing list.

What FLAIR offers you:

An annual conference, hosted by Georgia Regents University, Paine College or Richmond County schools on a variety of themes.  Our most successful conferences include “The Caribbean Connection: Culture, History and Literature,” “Chocolate: Food of the Gods,” and “TPR-Story Telling” with Blaine Ray. 

A variety of programs, designed to meet teacher needs and keep abreast of innovations in methodology and advancements in technology.

The FLAIR Honor Society for all qualified high school students, held in March in the Performing Arts Theater of Georgia Regents University.  The initiation fee includes a certificate, an embossed seal for their high school diploma, a printed program and a reception in their honor.  A door prize is awarded to one or two students from each school.

FLAIR Student of the Year awards. The outstanding student of each school is recognized at our annual honor society induction. Each student is awarded a certificate and a gift from FLAIR. Of these students, one is chosen to receive the FLAIR Student of the Year award, the highest honor bestowed by FLAIR. The recipient receives a plaque, a gift, recognition in the local newspaper and the FLAIR newsletter, and an invitation by the State Department of Education to attend a special awards ceremony in Atlanta.

The FLAIR Teacher of the Year award, which honors an outstanding teacher, active in local, regional, and state professional activities. The honoree receives a plaque, a gift, and recognition at the local and state levels.

A newsletter, published three or four times a year, announcing programs, conferences, contest results and a foreign language calendar.  Please submit items of interest to the editor, Jana Sandarg, at Georgia Regents University (jsandarg@gru.edu)

Teacher Grants, available for professional growth and projects that benefit local schools. Submit proposals to a steering committee member.

Teacher & Student Study Abroad Scholarships, available for professional growth and projects that benefit local schools. Submit proposals to a steering committee member.

A forum for professional growth and friendship. Together we can promote the teaching of foreign languages and cultures in the CSRA.

This brochure, distributed to all new teachers in the fall.

How is FLAIR organized? 
FLAIR is run by a steering committee open to all members at all times. There is no chair of the committee and no obligations for members. Everyone has a voice, and decisions are reached by consensus.

Updated 02-19-14
FLAIR Steering Committee
 
Avila, Julio
North Augusta High School
javila@aikencountypublicschools.net


Babayan, Liana
Georgia Regents University
lbabayan@gru.edu 


Barbara, Kathleen
Lakeside High School
kathleen.barbara@ccboe.net 


Barton, Aaron
Grovetown, High School
aaron.barton@ccboe.net

 

Bledsoe, Rob
Georgia Regents University
rbledsoe@gru.edu

 

Dahm, Shondell
North Augusta High School
sdahm@aikencountypublicschools.net


Dawson, Leslie
Evans High School
leslie.dawson@ccboe.net 


Deuber, Rita
Grovetown High School
rita.deuber@ccboe.net

 
Dockery, Michael
Greenbrier High School
michael.dockery@ccboe.net 


Eubanks, Angélica
Greenbrier High School
angelica.eubanks@ccboe.net 


Febus, Essie
Lakeside Middle & High School
essie.febus@ccboe.net 


Granda, Victor
Hephzibah High School
grandvi@boe.richmond.k12.ga.us


Harris, Michael
Butler High School
HarriMi2@richmond.k12.ga.us

 

Johnson, DiAnne
Evans High School
di.johnson@ccboe.net 


McGowan, Tonya
North Augusta High School
tmcgowan@aikencountypublicschools.net


Meredith, Terry
Aquinas High School
tmeredith@aquinashigh.org 


Millender, Mallory
Paine College
Mmille6417@aol.com 


Moore, Sandra
A. R. Johnson
mooresa@BOE.Richmond.k12.ga.us 


Pereira, Ana
Hephzibah High School
PereiAn@BOE.Richmond.k12.ga.us 


Pérez, Edwin
Treasurer
tahino@hotmail.com 


Poppell, Melisa
Lakeside High School
melisa.poppell@ccboe.net 


Presgrove, Christy
Greenbrier High School
cpresgrove@ccboe.net 


Puerta-Quinn, Sonia
Episcopal Day School
squinn@edsaugusta.com 


Sandarg, Jana
Georgia Regents University
jsandarg@gru.edu 


Turner, Gina
Gina.turner1@gmail.com

 

Pierson, Laura
Heritage Academy
laura.pierson88@yahoo.com

 

Walker, Robert
Academy of Richmond County
WalkeRo@BOE.Richmond.k12.ga.us
TOP

Transparent Panel for Emergency Use